Mini-Grids in Garissa County constructed by the national government. KOSAP will construct 120 Mini-grids in the 14 Counties. (Picture: Nyaga Ireri MOE)

The Kenya Off-Grid Solar Access Project (KOSAP) is a flagship project of the Ministry of Energy, financed by the World Bank aimed at providing electricity and clean cooking solutions in the remote, low density, and traditionally underserved areas of the country. The Project is part of the government’s commitment to provide universal access to electricity in Kenya by 2022, universal access to modern energy services for cooking by 2030 as well as the impetus for growth in achieving Vision 2030. The Project is implemented jointly by the Ministry of Energy, Kenya Power and Lighting (KPLC) as well as Rural Electrification and Renewable Energy Corporation (REREC).


The Project targets to reach approximately. 277,000 households (1.3 million people),  community facilities: schools; health facilities and administrative offices as well as  380 community boreholes in the 14 Counties of West Pokot, Turkana, Marsabit, Samburu, Isiolo, Mandera, Wajir, Garissa, Tana River, Lamu, Kilifi, Kwale, Taita Taveta, and Narok.

It will also facilitate the installation of 250,000 solar home systems in the 14 Counties and selling of 150,000 clean cooking stoves in 7 Counties of West Pokot, Turkana, Isiolo, Samburu and Marsabit, Kwale, Lamu and Kilifi.

Duration and Funding

The Six year Project was launched in July 2017 and will complete by June 2023. It is funded to the tune of $USD 150 Million (approximately KSh 15 Billion) by the World Bank.

Scope of the Project

 Component 1 Mini-grids for Households and Public Facilities

 As the target counties are not served by the national grid, mini-grids will be constructed to be the main source of energy. A total of 151 mini-grids will be constructed throughout I2 of the 14 Counties. The mini-grids will then be used to provide electricity to community facilities, enterprises, and households. The mini-grids will be constructed in areas that have a population of 100 households and sufficient existing or potential business and institutional loads.

  • Mini-Grid Project Sites in Isiolo County
  • Badana
  • Eras Ha Boru
  • Garfasa
  • Kipsing
  • Bassa
  • Kombolla
  • Oldonyiro
  • Malkadaka
  • Malkaghala
  • Rapsu
  • Leparua

 Component 2 on Stand Alone Solar Home Systems

The vast majority of the off-grid population in the 14 counties is dispersed and requires individual system solutions (Solar Home Systems- SHS). Under this component, the Project aims to establish sustainable supply chains for marketing and sales of solar home systems in KOSAP Counties. While the Private Sector Actors have penetrated the solar market in other parts of the country they have not made the same in-roads in the 14 Counties. The Project has established a Results-Based Financing and Debt Facility (RBF) which will provide incentives to solar businesses to extend and expand their reach in the 14 Counties. 

Under this component, the project aims to deliver 250,000 Stand-alone Solar home Systems and 150,000 high tier clean cooking solutions. SNV Netherlands Development Organisation in partnership with SunFunder is the Facilities Manager.

Types of Support under the RBF and Debt Facilities

There are three Facilities available for access by private companies:

  1. Results-Based Financing (SSP RBF) Facility (KES 1.2 billion) for Solar Service Providers
  2. Debt Facility (KES 3 billion) for Solar Service Providers
  3. Challenge Fund and Results-Based Financing (RBF) Facility (KES 0.5 billion) for Clean Cooking Solutions Service Providers (CCS SPs)

For further information on these Facilities and application process, please visit

Component 3A Stand Alone Home Systems for Public Facilities

Under this, community facilities developed by the Ministry of Health, Ministry of Education and the Ministry of Interior will be supplied with power for optimum performance. 

 To achieve this, a private-sector contractor will be procured by KPLC for each service territory to supply, install and maintain stand-alone solar systems in community facilities.

List of Public Facilities To Be Electrified Under KOSAP in ISIOLO County

Ntalaby Primay School School
Korbesa  Mixed/Secondary School School
Korbesa Dispensary Medical
Matar-Arba Dispensary Medical
Daaba Dispensary Medical
Kom Police Post Security
Aremiet Mixed Secondary School
Ngaremara Boys Secondary School
Kula Mawe Secondary School School
Oldonyiro Girls School
Janju Dispensary Medical
Biliqo Marara Dispensary Medical
Lolkuta North Dispensary Medical
Boji Dispensary Medical
Muchuro Dispensary Medical
Barambate Dispensary Medical

Component 3B Solar Water Pumps for Community Facilities

About 380 boreholes associated with community facilities in the 14 Counties will benefit from the installation of solar-powered water pumps. This will increase sustainable access to water supply by equipping new boreholes and retrofitting existing diesel-powered boreholes.  

The Rural Electrification Agency and Renewable Energy (REREC) which is in charge of implementing this aspect of the project will hire private sector contractor to supply, install and maintain stand-alone solar systems for the community facilities. This will enhance the sustainability of these facilities as operational cost associated with diesel based systems will be avoided.

Component 4A: Capacity Building for Counties

Training under KOSAP is aimed at enhancing the capacity of the targeted County Governments. The County government’s role in the energy sector is defined under the Constitution as “County planning and development, including-electricity and gas reticulation and energy regulation.”Given that the County Governments have been in existence for less than six years, there is a need to enhance their Capacity in order to undertake this function effectively.

 Training for the County Government is focused on Energy Management, Renewable Energy and Sustainable Resource Management, Tariff Rates and Cost Recovery Requirements, Environmental and Social Management, among others.

  • List of Trainees from Isiolo Counties
Course Trainees
Solar PV  T1&T2 3